Faculty & Staff

Counseling & Educational Psychology

Counseling & Educational Psychology Faculty


Dr. Robert Smith

Dr. Robert Smith
Professor / Chair, Department of Counseling and Educational Psychology 

ECDC 224 
361-825-2307
robert.smith@tamucc.edu


Dr. Yvonne Castillo
Dr. Yvonne Castillo
Director, Counseling and Training Clinic

NRC Suite 2700
361-825-3995
yvonne.castillo@tamucc.edu

Dr. Jennifer Gerlach
Dr. Jennifer Gerlach
Assistant Professor

ECDC 232A
361-825-3318
jennifer.gerlach@tamucc.edu


Dr. Stephen Lenz

Dr. Stephen Lenz
Assistant Professor

ECDC 152
361-825-3467
stephen.lenz@tamucc.edu


Dr. Kristina Nelson
Dr. Kristina Nelson
Assistant Professor

ECDC 223
361-825-2469
kristina.nelson@tamucc.edu

Dr. Marvarene Oliver
Dr. Marvarene Oliver
Professor & Interim Associate Dean of Graduate Studies

ECDC 149
361-825-3326
marvarene.oliver@tamucc.edu

Dr. Richard Ricard

Dr. Richard Ricard 
Professor; Associate Dean of Graduate Studies

FC 204B
361-825-3725
richard.ricard@tamucc.edu


Dr. Joshua Watson
Dr. Joshua Watson
Professor

ECDC 151
361-825-2739
joshua.watson@tamucc.edu

Affiliate Faculty


Dr. Kamiar Kouzekanani

Dr. Kamiar Kouzekanani
Professor  
Specialization: Research methods and statistics  

361-825-2318
kamiar.kouzekanani@tamucc.edu


Dr. Guang Zeng

Dr. Guang Zeng
Associate Professor
Specialization: Quantitative research methods

361-825-2175
guang.zeng@tamucc.edu  


Adjunct Faculty


Dr. Cathy Abernethy
361-825-2442
catherine.abernethy@tamucc.edu

Dr. Joseph Biberstein
361-825-2442
joseph.biberstein@tamucc.edu

Dr. Catherine Cueva
361-825-2442
catherine.cueva@tamucc.edu

Dr. Sallie Freeman
361-825-2442
sallie.freeman@tamucc.edu

Dr. Diane Herrero
361-825-2442
diane.herrero@tamucc.edu

Dr. Wannigar Ratanavivan
361-825-2442
wannigar.ratanavivan@tamucc.edu

Dr. Lia Rosales
361-825-2442
lia.rosales@tamucc.edu


Counseling & Educational Psychology Staff


Rachel Perez

Ms. Rachel Perez
Administrative Associate

ECDC 242A
361-825-3393
rachel.perez@tamucc.edu