National & International Leadership

Counseling & Educational Psychology

The TAMU-CC Department of Counseling and Educational Psychology continues to shine as a national leader in counseling fields, with the following among its standout achievements:

  • The department is the first one in the nation to have housed the presidents of two national organizations simultaneously: the American Counseling Association and the American Association of Marriage and Family Therapy.
  • The department's faculty have served as editors of the flagship journal of the American Counseling Association, Counseling Today; the Family Journal; the Journal of Counseling & Development; the Journal of College Counseling; and the Texas Counseling Journal.
  • The department is a recipient of the Dr. Robert Frank Outstanding Counselor Education Program Award from the Association of Counselor Educators and Supervisors. This national award is named after Northern Iowa University Professor Robert Frank in recognition of his work in program development and accreditation. The award is not presented every year, only in years in which there is an exceptionally deserving program.
  • A team of doctoral students, mentored by Dr. Marvarene Oliver, took national top honors in the American Counseling Association ethics competition. Story
  • Dr. Kimberly Frazier is president of the American Multicultural Counseling Association.
  • Dr. Stephen Lenz is president of the American Association of Research in Counseling (AARC).
  • Dr. Kimberly Frazier has traveled to the International Association for Counseling conference to help organize a mentoring program for graduate students and new professionals. Story
  • Graduate counseling students periodically travel to Costa Rica to study abroad, where they take on projects such as organizing a wellness program with the local health clinic and providing recommendations for students with special needs. Story